Stepping Out

I think we all have the yearning deep down inside to set off on a journey someday. I do. We all want to be a part of something “important” or do something “big” and we feel incomplete or less-than when we can’t live up to our standards of what is important in life. We set goals, maybe even subconsciously, for everything from friends to money to jobs and relationships. We don’t want to be a loser- we don’t want to be what we (and the world) consider a failure. We spend so much of our lives trying to better our position in the world- have you noticed a trend here? All we’re thinking about is us.

I find myself worrying about the future, or trying to figure out a plan for my life- as if I know what I’m doing.

Thankfully, God has a better plan. He always does. He doesn’t view success or failures the same way the world does. He just wants us to follow him, to be close to him. Even better, God knows our desire for something better, to be a part of something “important,” so he fills us with his spirit to do his work: spreading the love of Christ.

His plan for success is not the same as ours. It probably won’t entail money, or fame, or anything else we usually consider “successful,” even though God can use those things to his glory all the same. His plan for me or you might be hard or uncomfortable at times, but it is truly the only thing that satisfies our desires.

God wants to take us on a journey, one much better than this world has to offer. If we let him, we can be a part of his plan- the only truly “important” thing after all.

I want to go deeper in my walk with God and serve him more, even in the day-to-day, mundane things of life.

I want to be open to when the Spirit moves and calls me to something that’s out of my comfort zone.

I can’t even begin to do this on my own power- only the Holy Spirit working through us can change our lives.

God’s path may not be the flashiest or the richest, but it is most certainly the best. If we step out in faith with him, there’s no knowing what amazing things can happen.

Happy Journeys.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” -J. R. R. Tolkien

2015/01/img_2364-4.jpg

Leave a Reply

